A certification scheme at Expert Level must meet the expectations and perceptions of its stakeholders and has to be seen to be truly “expert”. A score above 80% is required to pass.

An expert must not only be able to show knowledge, but also in depth practical skills; as a consequence an exam only using multiple choice questions is not preferred. The exam therefore consists of two parts:

Part 1: Multiple-Choice
Part 2: Essay

For more details on exam structure please refer to the ISTQB® Expert Level Exam Structure and Rules document
Certificate Extension

An Expert Level certificate is valid for 5 years.

The Certification Extension Program is published by ISTQB®
Accredited training courses
For the training we aim several objectives, namely:

Higher level Learning Objectives in focus
Emphasis is on practical work (at least 50% of the course time is spent on practical exercise and discussions)
In-depth consideration of subjects introduced at advanced levels
Goal: Mastery of the subject

Exercises in the Workplace

Several learning objectives are identified in each syllabus which may be achieved in the workplace. Training Providers agree these exercises with participants before they are performed and must ensure that they have been completed satisfactorily. This concept allows training courses to be split into separate parts with workplace exercises in between and enables maximum practical benefit from the training.
Accredited training providers

Accredited training courses information can be obtained via the ISTQB® Member Boards and ISTQB® Accredited Training Providers.